Friday, March 20, 2020

Make your own Mocha so ya don't get Corona

       So, I absolutely adore coffee. I love making and getting coffee. Being quarantined with the siblings and father also means that I need A LOT of caffeine. Since this winter, my mom and I have been determined to figure out how to make our own, delicious mochas. Well let's be honest, my mom did it the first couple times with me, but I am now the Mocha Master.  These are a sinch to make, and so tempting, warm, and inviting.



       The very first thing you need to do is pick a hot chocolate. I like to pick good quality hot chocolate, usually, consisting of chocolate shavings or this SCRUMPTIOUS salted caramel powder mix that I got from the grocery store. I used salted caramel today, I usually just figure out what I'm in the mood for and go from there. You can make this in the microwave, there is nothing wrong with that. However, I really like to make it on the stove, I think it tastes better, but if you're in a pinch the micro will work as well. Depending on how many mochas I'm making depends on how many people want them, but I usually go with about 3/4 cup of milk per mocha.

       I let the milk get to a simmering point before I had about 1 1/2 Tbs of my mix (or I just add chocolate shavings until I think there's enough). I stir until it's all combined, and then pour/ladle it into my mugs.

       Next is kinda tricky. I have this AMAZING princess tea cake coffee that I really like to use with regular hot chocolate, but it's not espresso sized, so I just switch mugs halfway through (when making 2 mochas) so each mug gets the right amount of coffee, or you could just use more hot cocoa. However, I find it easier to just use an espresso shot. It provides the perfect amount of coffee flavor and caffeine level. That's what I did today, and it's so so yummy with the salted caramel hot cocoa.

       The final touch, for me, is to add some whipped cream/cool whip/whip some heavy cream with a little bit of sugar. This is such a nice topper because it melts into the mocha (if you don't eat it off the top), and is just so dang delicious. I also got some caramel and dark chocolate sauces to drizzle on top because I'm extra like that. I hope you guys love these as much as I do, because seriously, I have one every morning, and I have no regrets.

No comments:

Post a Comment